English
This forum is closed for posting. Please, join us in our Discord server at discord.gg/regnum. See you there!

Go Back   Champions of Regnum > English > Technical Support

Technical Support Questions about game technical support to the users of the community

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-10-2011, 05:29 PM   #31
bois
Count
 
bois's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Trinidad and Tobago
Posts: 1,194
bois will become famous soon enough
Default

Cheers and good luck to you Don. If you continue to have problems please post here. We will then have to look at other things like Hard disk (bad sector) , dodgy recently updated drivers and so on if the problems keep coming.

Regards
bois no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2011, 08:13 AM   #32
Wield_II
Master
 
Wield_II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Paradise
Posts: 306
Wield_II is on a distinguished road
Default

1 more question,

Can overclocking overheat my pc?
I havent touched anything, my friend build this pc it has run very well for a long time. I dont know how to lower overclocking. It's overclocking at 800%.

Yes, 800% it could normally take it easily. But I just want to lower it.

Any suggestions?
Wield_II no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2011, 11:26 AM   #33
ieti
Count
 
ieti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
Posts: 1,374
ieti is on a distinguished road
Default

CPU Type: 2x Intel pentium III Xeon
CPU name: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad Q8200 @ 2.33GHz
CPU Clock: 2339.74 MHz (original: 2333 MHz)
CPU Multiplier: 2.5x
CPU FSB 935.91 MHz (original: 100 MHz, overclock: 836%)

Check this is accurate. For me it is not.

This CPU information is very very strange. Usually overclock lowers life of the chip. Speaking of it's life if it is 15 years if you lower it to let's say 8 years it is not so big deal anyway. You will change system for that time.

Overclock is not easy to do and have to be done carefully. You can damage the chip and if you do it you void warranty. So if you do not know what you do better do not do it. Some products come clocked by manifacturer.

Overclock comes with more heat because you usually try to make CPU to run on bigger frequencies. This result more performance, but more heat too.

Sometimes the battery that keeps bios memory powered stops to work. If that happens you can see some instability sometimes, because bios can forget his settings and get some default one which may be not so good. So this can be added into check list too.
__________________
RA | Ignis | Lilla My | Conjurer | EVIL IGNIS ROCK
Horus | Syrtis | ieti | Conjurer | INQUISITION | LONG GONE
ieti no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2011, 01:53 PM   #34
Cuchulainn
Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 303
Cuchulainn is on a distinguished road
Default

I think your old 300 W PSU is maybe enough for you're computer if you don't overclock it. Overclocking gives a small performance boost and increases power consumption a lot. But if you replace it, it make sense to buy at least 400+W PSU.
Cuchulainn no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2011, 06:12 PM   #35
Wield_II
Master
 
Wield_II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Paradise
Posts: 306
Wield_II is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cuchulainn View Post
I think your old 300 W PSU is maybe enough for you're computer if you don't overclock it. Overclocking gives a small performance boost and increases power consumption a lot. But if you replace it, it make sense to buy at least 400+W PSU.
Yes, I think's enough to, since it used to run just perfectly.

Is there like a way to slow down overclocking?

Thanks in advance.
Wield_II no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2011, 06:30 PM   #36
standistortion
Master
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ireland
Posts: 438
standistortion is on a distinguished road
Default

You will normally have a 'reset to defaults' option in the bios, selecting this will turn of any overclocking. Another option is to use the cmos jumper to clear bios settings, this is a couple of pins on the motherboard often near the battery and labeled something like 'clear cmos' or 'reset bios'.

Go through the bios settings before doing either of these, there may be some settings you need to adjust after reseting, 'onboard audio' and 'boot device priority' would be 2 I always have to change as well as setting the time and date if I reset with the jumper. I usually take photos of the screen for each page of bios settings just in case.
standistortion no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2011, 06:58 PM   #37
ieti
Count
 
ieti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
Posts: 1,374
ieti is on a distinguished road
Default

Maybe your old PSU was enough before, but new graphics card consumes more power and overloaded it.

For 5770 model in AMD site there is following requirement:

450 Watt or greater power supply with one 75W 6-pin PCI Express® power connectors recommended (600 Watt and two 6-pin connectors for ATI CrossFireX™ technology in dual mode).

After all it is your computer do as you wish.
__________________
RA | Ignis | Lilla My | Conjurer | EVIL IGNIS ROCK
Horus | Syrtis | ieti | Conjurer | INQUISITION | LONG GONE
ieti no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2011, 07:59 PM   #38
bois
Count
 
bois's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Trinidad and Tobago
Posts: 1,194
bois will become famous soon enough
Default

I would like to second the gentle suggestion by Ieti. That video card needs a fair amount of power (450w base) . Even if you don't change it now, it is a good idea to consider it for a future upgrade.
I would hate to see any lack of power leading to a knock on problem of affecting the motherboard. A 500 watt power supply is something you could consider for the future.

You could enter the BIOS of the motherboard by entering Esc, F2 or DEL (depending on board) before the operating system starts. Inside there and usually at the last tab there is a setting to reset to defaults. That would set the board to factory accepted defaults (no time/date change) There may be another option to set to optimal defaults. Either one should remove any over-clocking sets. Using the jumper is the last of the last option to try.

Regards
bois no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2011, 11:58 PM   #39
Cuchulainn
Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 303
Cuchulainn is on a distinguished road
Default

A Radeon HD 5770 needs not more than 108 W of power, your CPU has at normal clock settings a TDP of 95 W; a Radeon HD 5750 needs about 20 W less. If energy efficiency and cost matters, it's better to use not a overdimensioned PSU. But a normal 300W PSU with your CPU+GPU is probably louder than most 500W PSU's would be.
Cuchulainn no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2011, 08:35 AM   #40
Aid_The_Conjurer
Apprentice
 
Aid_The_Conjurer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 84
Aid_The_Conjurer is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

PC abuse alert!
HAHA!

I love it when people don't take care of their systems and they fail with overheating.

If cleaning does not work do this...
REPLACE YOUR FANS.
Graphic card and cpu fans can fail in time.
Replacing them is cheap and easy.
__________________
Aid
Epic Conjurer of Alsius (Ra)
aka Faith Healer (Horus) 2010
Aid_The_Conjurer no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
NGD Studios 2002-2016 © All rights reserved