English

Go Back   Champions of Regnum > English > Technical Support

Technical Support Questions about game technical support to the users of the community

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-23-2011, 08:57 AM   #11
Anpu
Count
 
Anpu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,186
Anpu will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by surak View Post
You are not supposed to do this.

But anyway, does it work using different users? I never tried. It shouldn't work, due to UDP port conflicts.
With described above, here it is:


Same you can do on Windows.
__________________

Inquisition
Anpu no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 11:40 AM   #12
surak
Legend
 
surak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Oslo
Posts: 2,176
surak has a spectacular aura aboutsurak has a spectacular aura about
Default

Oh well.

As usual there's nothing we can do to prevent users to find a way to do whatever they want with the client :P
__________________
Surak Remember... this is just a game! - Xephandor existe y Miriya es su profeta!
surak no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 03:20 PM   #13
_Enio_
Marquis
 
_Enio_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,843
_Enio_ will become famous soon enough
Default

well, client modifications should not harm your server/db, if it does theres some conceptual problems with data validation checks, but i guess you deal with that enough to get bad dreams of

However, theres lots of well documented and reported very annoying bugs still unfixed since min 6 months, they should be higher priority then preventing dual log which you could easily do with 2 pcs anyways!
__________________
Fix the Marksman subclass: Suggestion
_Enio_ no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 04:22 PM   #14
_Kharbon_
Baron
 
_Kharbon_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Czech Republic
Posts: 769
_Kharbon_ is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _Enio_ View Post
However, theres lots of well documented and reported very annoying bugs still unfixed since min 6 months, they should be higher priority then preventing dual log which you could easily do with 2 pcs anyways!
Totaly agree, there are much more important things to fix.
__________________
Kharbon
Proud member of
CZ/SK
WM - WM - WM - 56 - 53 - 50

_Kharbon_ no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 04:48 PM   #15
surak
Legend
 
surak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Oslo
Posts: 2,176
surak has a spectacular aura aboutsurak has a spectacular aura about
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _Enio_ View Post
well, client modifications should not harm your server/db, if it does theres some conceptual problems with data validation checks, but i guess you deal with that enough to get bad dreams of

However, theres lots of well documented and reported very annoying bugs still unfixed since min 6 months, they should be higher priority then preventing dual log which you could easily do with 2 pcs anyways!
I don't plan on fixing this... can't I come here to gently talk without being bashed about our long TODO list?

Damnit.
__________________
Surak Remember... this is just a game! - Xephandor existe y Miriya es su profeta!
surak no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 04:51 PM   #16
VandaMan
Baron
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 747
VandaMan is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by surak View Post
I don't plan on fixing this... can't I come here to gently talk without being bashed about our long TODO list?

Damnit.
You should make a secondary forum account and troll your own forum. It would be awesome.
VandaMan no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 05:07 PM   #17
_Enio_
Marquis
 
_Enio_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,843
_Enio_ will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by surak View Post
I don't plan on fixing this... can't I come here to gently talk without being bashed about our long TODO list?

Damnit.
Sooorrryy, its hard to resist when theres a dev actually reading and responding to things. I doubt its easy for you guys especially since your todo list seems to become longer every update. Its just, your users build up lots of frustration when they dont know whats going on.

Ill shut up, luv ya, dont flee <3

We could talk about girls from argentina instead? Hows it goin? XD
__________________
Fix the Marksman subclass: Suggestion
_Enio_ no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 07:46 PM   #18
Tigerious
Banned
 
Tigerious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: France
Posts: 496
Tigerious is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

As a lil programmer I am, I think it's not difficult to check current process running and in this case, don't starts this one when already running. If you want some C/C++ codelines I can give you it, but give me some boosters to level up my chars ok ?

Anyway, google is a good friend too =)
Tigerious no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 09:53 PM   #19
_Enio_
Marquis
 
_Enio_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,843
_Enio_ will become famous soon enough
Default

you cant so easily get into another users personal data, at least not on a serious os.
__________________
Fix the Marksman subclass: Suggestion
_Enio_ no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2011, 09:21 AM   #20
HidraA
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 843
HidraA is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

There is a easy way,but this is kinda unfair,put the server to cheack if there are two connection from same IP,unfortunaly if there are hight networks like students campus will ban maybe 10 of ppl that play from same network.Maybe when RO will have enaught players....Another issue of this idea ,this will load server a bit...and wee have enaught isue with bad ping lag
Also this can be done from IPtables.If i am not wrong your server running on Debian so can be done
In Iptables will be something like this:
Code:
iptables -A INPUT -p tcp --dport (your port here) -m connlimit --connlimit-above 3 -j REJECT --reject-with tcp-reset
I don't tested ... cose i use servers ISP so i accept all connections.

Last edited by HidraA; 03-24-2011 at 09:47 AM.
HidraA no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
NGD Studios 2002-2016 © All rights reserved