English

Go Back   Champions of Regnum > English > Technical Support

Technical Support Questions about game technical support to the users of the community

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-09-2011, 03:45 PM   #11
time-to-die
Baron
 
time-to-die's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: The netherlands
Posts: 722
time-to-die is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Donatoo View Post
How do I rule out overheating?
I bought 2weeks ago a laptopcooler on bol.com Now my laptop isnt hot anymore
time-to-die no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2011, 04:16 PM   #12
Wield_II
Master
 
Wield_II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Paradise
Posts: 306
Wield_II is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by time-to-die View Post
I bought 2weeks ago a laptopcooler on bol.com Now my laptop isnt hot anymore
So you suggest another fan, I already have 2.
Dont know if there's space for another. Not sure if this is the problem though.
Wield_II no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2011, 04:25 PM   #13
ieti
Count
 
ieti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
Posts: 1,377
ieti is on a distinguished road
Default

Sometimes if power supply is not enough it leads to such problems. Newer graphics cards need alot more power and when you start some game they overload the power supply. This can result his parameters to go out of spec and computer to start to act strange.

Try some power calculator to see how approx your computer needs. Then compare with your power supply. Keep in mind some cheap supplies are for example 350W, but in fact they are not even 200W.

Look at matherboard for strange looking capacitors.
__________________
RA | Ignis | Lilla My | Conjurer | EVIL IGNIS ROCK
Horus | Syrtis | ieti | Conjurer | INQUISITION | LONG GONE
ieti no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2011, 05:00 PM   #14
Wield_II
Master
 
Wield_II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Paradise
Posts: 306
Wield_II is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ieti View Post
Sometimes if power supply is not enough it leads to such problems. Newer graphics cards need alot more power and when you start some game they overload the power supply. This can result his parameters to go out of spec and computer to start to act strange.

Try some power calculator to see how approx your computer needs. Then compare with your power supply. Keep in mind some cheap supplies are for example 350W, but in fact they are not even 200W.

Look at matherboard for strange looking capacitors.
I'm on it, thanks very much.

------ Edit

By calculations im going to need around 390 - 410.
That's a huge diffrence from what I'm using at the moment.

Just weird that it used to work fine.

Last edited by Donatoo; 06-09-2011 at 05:10 PM.
Wield_II no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2011, 05:46 PM   #15
ieti
Count
 
ieti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
Posts: 1,377
ieti is on a distinguished road
Default

Good ones usually got some reserve put by manufacturer. Keep in mind that higher temperatures at summer makes things worse too.

If you do not know what to put you can get the machine to some friend or service and try and test. If this do not solve problem - well it is not there.
__________________
RA | Ignis | Lilla My | Conjurer | EVIL IGNIS ROCK
Horus | Syrtis | ieti | Conjurer | INQUISITION | LONG GONE
ieti no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2011, 06:04 PM   #16
bois
Count
 
bois's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Trinidad and Tobago
Posts: 1,194
bois will become famous soon enough
Default

Of course we forgot to ask (as it is win xp) did you get any flash of the "blue screen before it went down? If that is happening and you could pull some info off of that , it would help a lot.

If your fans are working well I suppose we could rule heat problems out . The sure way to know is that you will not be able to reboot the system immediately. The system would have to cool within set parameters before it lets you boot again.

You said you recently updated that video card. Like Ieti mentioned, those 5000 series need juice. Usually a 400watt for the 5400series and a 450watt for the 5700 series. Checking the needs of the video card can't hurt.

I would also keep an eye on the RAM as well. A dusty stick or loosely connected one can cause blue screens and trouble when the OS tries address the malfunctioning array. I had a similar problem about 2 months ago and it was a dodgy stick of RAM at fault.

Regards
Artec
bois no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2011, 06:29 PM   #17
Wield_II
Master
 
Wield_II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Paradise
Posts: 306
Wield_II is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bois View Post
Of course we forgot to ask (as it is win xp) did you get any flash of the "blue screen before it went down? If that is happening and you could pull some info off of that , it would help a lot.

If your fans are working well I suppose we could rule heat problems out . The sure way to know is that you will not be able to reboot the system immediately. The system would have to cool within set parameters before it lets you boot again.

You said you recently updated that video card. Like Ieti mentioned, those 5000 series need juice. Usually a 400watt for the 5400series and a 450watt for the 5700 series. Checking the needs of the video card can't hurt.

I would also keep an eye on the RAM as well. A dusty stick or loosely connected one can cause blue screens and trouble when the OS tries address the malfunctioning array. I had a similar problem about 2 months ago and it was a dodgy stick of RAM at fault.

Regards
Artec
Yeah, they need alot of juice.

I'm going to check my RAM stick's tomorrow, as these are kinda old though. And clean my fan's as far as possible.
And I'm definitly going to replace my power supply, I'll let you know tomorrow.
My computer used to be standing on a sorth of small closet, a open one.

And it's currently standing on a carpet in the corner.
Like 5 inches from the wall. Any idea if this could make it worse?

Thanks alot for your time and effort, Artec Ieti and everyone who posted!
Wield_II no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2011, 06:38 PM   #18
bois
Count
 
bois's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Trinidad and Tobago
Posts: 1,194
bois will become famous soon enough
Default

If the wall is facing sun and hot that could be an issue over time, however once the side and rear are not blocked it should be fine. 5 inches is okay.

Remember if it is on the ground it is more at risk for dust getting sucked in.

Lastly, carpet builds static so be careful and ground yourself off ( touch metal case with power plugged in) before touching internal components. Static could kill components.

Regards
bois no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2011, 07:06 PM   #19
ieti
Count
 
ieti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
Posts: 1,377
ieti is on a distinguished road
Default

In general it is good to remove once a year every board from the slots. Graphics cards, RAM, Network card, Sound card. Then put back again. Sometimes slot contacts get oxidated or cards starts to get out. So problems can occur.

In all cases as bois said careful with static.

You can do same with power plugs, interface cables etc. In all cases be gentle and put back good without too much force.

Dust cleaning is good to do too.

Last you can check is CPU's. Between CPU and sinks there is and heat transfer compound(dunno how is in english). Sometimes his params get worse with time and CPU's start to overheat. Do this only if you know how to do it.
__________________
RA | Ignis | Lilla My | Conjurer | EVIL IGNIS ROCK
Horus | Syrtis | ieti | Conjurer | INQUISITION | LONG GONE
ieti no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2011, 07:20 PM   #20
blood-raven
Master
 
blood-raven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Belgium
Posts: 561
blood-raven is on a distinguished road
Default

is it a good idea to clean your computer with dust cloth? cause my computer is on the ground so i need to clean it a lot.
i used to do it with the vacume cleaner, which isnt a great thing to do since it hardly sucks anything and you can't get everywhere.
I din't want to try a dust cloth before i know it's ok to do
__________________
SHAKE IT LIKE A POLAR BEAR NINJA
blood-raven no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
NGD Studios 2002-2016 © All rights reserved