English

Go Back   Champions of Regnum > English > Technical Support

Technical Support Questions about game technical support to the users of the community

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-04-2007, 09:54 AM   #31
Inkster
Count
 
Inkster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Arse firmly glued to Ra
Posts: 1,042
Inkster has a spectacular aura aboutInkster has a spectacular aura about
Default

oki doki, in order this is what we have tried so far and the problems twinkle is having on her pc still

we have borrowed a new hdd clean installed windows, all driver including the latest dual core etc...

Downloaded a fresh version of regnum

Tried the game from above

It ran too fast still

Formatted the drive, tried the same with xp pro

it ran too fast still

Formatted again installed windows 2000 and all driver

It STILL ran to fast

So we are a bit better on speed thanks to the advice of boger with the drivers he suggested but the game is still too fast to play and it annoys the shit out of other players

The game itself is running about 3 times it should from the initial ngd studio man dropping onto the screen onwards

If anyone has any idea please let us know as ive run out.

Twinkle will be playing on either mine or her sons pc when she goes to war but do remember we like to use our own pcs sometimes.

At these time she will use her warp factor 10 pc to level her character up in the only place she can, the wz. She will not however attack anyone unless they attack her first at those times.

This is all we can think of until we get her pc to run the game at a sensible speed

We thank you for your help and patience in this matter, and any support is appreciated

Your friendly arrow magnet

Ink

P.S. the pc is not overclocked in any way
Inkster no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2007, 11:31 AM   #32
DuoMaxwell
Master
 
DuoMaxwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: A place worse then hell
Posts: 332
DuoMaxwell is on a distinguished road
Default

and you tried disabling one of the 2 cpu cores? tried underclocking, tried setting the ram settings to DDR/DDR2 standard spec speeds and timings? Tried underclocking the cpu, the machine have anything special in any way done to it at all? The bios is at it's most recent revision?

Its only this macine with this account or is it this machine with any account? Do you have other spare hardware in your other machines to swap around, such as ram, cpu and gpu? [NOTE] if swapping out the cpus ALWAYS change the thermal goo each and every time you remove the heatsink from the cpu, airpockets in the goop can cause overheats. I recomend using something like arctic silver 5 and their cleaners to remove whats there and what to put in place of the stock goop.
__________________
My Chars:
Duo Maxwell, Knight, Ignis. Yo Momma, Conjurer, Ignis. Izana, Hunter, Ignis
Bank Of Duo, Warrior, used as gear storage only cause we have no banks...
DuoMaxwell no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2007, 12:01 PM   #33
surak
Legend
 
surak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Oslo
Posts: 2,176
surak has a spectacular aura aboutsurak has a spectacular aura about
Default

Please try the experimental server, we have enabled an alternate timing method.
__________________
Surak Remember... this is just a game! - Xephandor existe y Miriya es su profeta!
surak no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2007, 03:35 PM   #34
Inkster
Count
 
Inkster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Arse firmly glued to Ra
Posts: 1,042
Inkster has a spectacular aura aboutInkster has a spectacular aura about
Default

Surak, you are a star. The speed problem is now solved and we know it will be on the main server on the next update.

Thank you to all the other people who helped.

It must be said i was highly amused in the way they got twinkle to run but im not telling :P

Last edited by Inkster; 09-04-2007 at 05:09 PM.
Inkster no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2007, 05:11 PM   #35
magnet
Count
 
magnet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: France
Posts: 1,416
magnet is on a distinguished road
Default

What I don't get surak is that I read earlier that server-lag (character repositioning) was related to anti-speedhack measures, why don't they apply to Twinkle? Or were them disabled?

And Inkster, you don't need a spare cpu to disable one of the cores, just go into the BIOS when you boot your PC (Press DEL to enter setup, or another key depending on your BIOS).

Finally I really doubt you would be getting those problems under GNU/Linux, because the game doesn't support multiple cpus under Linux; if you had a spare drive to install XP, just try installing Ubuntu (www.ubuntu.com, just follow instructions).
magnet no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2007, 08:14 PM   #36
DuoMaxwell
Master
 
DuoMaxwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: A place worse then hell
Posts: 332
DuoMaxwell is on a distinguished road
Default

They make you chase a chicken?

And yes, most things I talked about are features of the bios in good mobos, not usually features you'll find in a machine from HP or Dell, but are a great set of tools to have as youcn use them to force your computer to work in different ways, got a program that needs little cpu power but needs tons of memory bandwidth bt latency of the ram isn't a big issue? You can set that up to maximize that app's preformance, need more power then yor CPU can handle and need tighter memory timings bandwidth be dammed? you can do that too. A good mobo with loads of features is not to be underestimated, even if you think yo'll never need them now, eventally you may need to.
__________________
My Chars:
Duo Maxwell, Knight, Ignis. Yo Momma, Conjurer, Ignis. Izana, Hunter, Ignis
Bank Of Duo, Warrior, used as gear storage only cause we have no banks...
DuoMaxwell no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2007, 04:18 PM   #37
0rcus
Pledge
 
0rcus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Czech Republic
Posts: 23
0rcus is on a distinguished road
Default

Hi, my friend has this problem too, but only on official server, he's looking forward to next update too.
Only weird thing is that it's running superfast only when regnum window is active. 1 in-game day takes 0.5 real life seconds, but when some other window is activated, regnum runs at normal speed.
__________________
Proud member of The Guardians of Power
"A story in a game is like a story in a porn movie. It's expected to be there, but it's not that important." - John Carmack
0rcus no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2007, 07:26 PM   #38
Inkster
Count
 
Inkster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Arse firmly glued to Ra
Posts: 1,042
Inkster has a spectacular aura aboutInkster has a spectacular aura about
Talking

Problem is now solved with update

NGD thanks you guys are the best (apart from surak who got on his horse and rode off before i could kill him)
Inkster no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2007, 01:19 AM   #39
HGL
Pledge
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 19
HGL is on a distinguished road
Default

Im not sure about this but it sounds basic problem if u have powernowd active or such. Make sure your computer runs same clock speed all the time.
Almost all cases the game checks how fast your computer is. if u start the game when your computer runs at 50% clock speed (like 1gHz), and then the cpu raises the clock speed to 100% (2gHz), The game still thinks its 1 ghz and thats why its acts too fast.
typical proplem with laptops.

-worse than satan-
HGL no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2007, 01:49 PM   #40
DaggerSpell
Pledge
 
DaggerSpell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 27
DaggerSpell is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Inkster
Problem is now solved with update

NGD thanks you guys are the best (apart from surak who got on his horse and rode off before i could kill him)
Next time knock him off his horse :P
__________________
Thesis (Warlock) Alsius lvl 50 - La Fragua -
DaggerSpell no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
NGD Studios 2002-2016 © All rights reserved